Welcome to our village. Shirley is a small community of 250 people nestling in the folds of the beautiful Derbyshire Dales. It is a mostly agricultural environment, being an estate village from the middle ages, but since the war has also become the home of people working in nearby towns as well as a for many retired people.

We have a number of interesting buildings dating from the 17th and 18th centuries which are still inhabited, a 14th century church which has within it a useful community space, and an 18th century pub where fine food is served.

It is a centre for walkers as there are many trails through farmland and woods available to all, and we are on SUSTRANS Route 1 from Dover to The Shetlands. Horseriding is available from local stables and we have a well used Sports Field.

Shirley is an excellent centre for exploring this beautiful part of England. We are centrally placed for visiting Alton Towers, Buxton, Chatsworth, many local National Trust properties, and there is a racecourse at Uttoxeter.

Picture of the village
Church Lane Deli
Church Lane Deli. Behind the Saracen’s Head

Food and Accommodation

Shirley Hall Farm, Hall Lane – Bed & Breakfast
The Horseshoes, Long Lane
The Red Lion Hollington
The Rose and Crown, Brailsford
The Shire Horse, Edlaston
The Shoulder of Mutton, Osmaston
The Yew Tree Inn and Lodge, Ednaston


DDDC Bin Update - 6th April
Dear Residents,

Please note that Shirley's recycling will not be collected on this weeks bin rounds. DDDC are very conscious that some residents have not had their recycling collections completed recently and are concerned about when the service will be resumed.

Please be aware that a contingency plan will be announced very soon that seeks to address how recycling collections will happen during this emergency situation.

Easter bin collections update
Good Friday (10 April) is a normal collections day (for rounds that are operating). There will be no collections on Easter Monday (13 April), but our crews will be working on Saturday the 18th, meaning all collections w/c 13 April will be one day later than usual.

COVID 19 - Local notices
1. The 2020 Shirley Litter Pick planned for Sunday 29 March has been postponed. A new date will be announced in due course. If as many of us as possible make a point of litter picking whilst out and about it would be appreciated.

2. The Shirley Neighbourhood Watch Meeting planned for 8 June is postponed. A new date will be announced in due course.

Please note that with immediate effect

3. Shirley Parish Church will be closed until further notice. The toilets will no longer be available.

4. On the Sports Field the Portaloos will be closed until further notice. Dog walkers please take note.

Derbyshire Dales Waste Collection Information
Staffing issues due to the coronavirus outbreak mean unfortunately we don't have the resources to return for any recycling, food or garden waste collections missed so far this week. Our apologies.

The reduced bin crews continue to prioritise household waste collections and only missed household waste collections need to be reported via this quick webform.

Please do not report any missed recycling, garden waste or food collections.

Garden waste collections are now suspended and food waste collections are fortnightly with household waste collections.

Derbyshire Recycling Centres Closed
As of 24 March 2020 please note that all Derbyshire County Council’s household waste recycling centres are closed until further notice.

Car parks message - coronavirus
Update from Derbyshire Dales District Council (24/03/2020)

Although our car parks remain open for the benefit of Derbyshire Dales residents who are working from home or making essential visits as set out by Government, we will from this evening put up clear signage asking motorists if they need to be there and to follow current Government coronavirus measures.

Parking charges will be suspended temporarily until further notice.

Derbyshire Dales Updates
Financial support for residents during Covid-19
During coronavirus outbreak we have pledged to review instalment dates for people struggling with normal payments such as #Council Tax. We've also suspended all recovery actions against households.

Please go to: https://www.derbyshiredales.gov.uk/your-council/news-and-publications/latest-news/3044-financial-support-for-residents-and-businesses-during-covid-19 for further update.

Business Rate Reliefs to help local firms
Today we have removed business rates bills for local shops and leisure businesses affected by coronavirus measures. Every business eligible under the Government’s expanded retail discount scheme will now be sent a new bill giving 100% discount for 2020/21.

We've also written to all local small businesses and retail, hospitality and leisure businesses, urging them to email their details to revenues@derbyshiredales.gov.uk to be paid Government coronavirus support grants.

Do you know someone who needs support?
Derbyshire County Council are co-ordinating a massive community response across the county to make sure vulnerable residents are supported through the coronavirus outbreak.
Volunteers from over 200 different organisations will be able to help with shopping, fetching prescriptions or even having a chat with for anyone who:
•is self-isolating because they or a member of their household is at risk
•is struggling to meet their basic needs because of financial, social or health restrictions
•is pregnant
•has underlying health conditions
•is aged 70 or over.
Anyone needing help should visit the council’s website at derbyshire.gov.uk/communityresponse or phone 01629 535091.
Anyone who wants to help and is aged 18 to 70 and is fit and well should also visit the council website to register their interest. Some organisations are looking for volunteers to offer a befriending telephone service, so anyone who wants to help but can’t leave their house could offe

Derbyshire Dales Update on Recycling
Derbyshire Dales District Council are very conscious that some residents where recycling collections have been missed this week and last are getting concerned about when we might have capacity to react to the backlog as the coronavirus crisis continues to impact on this service. You will no doubt be getting lots of questions about this.

Please be aware that we are talking to Serco and a contingency plan will be announced very soon that seeks to address how recycling collections will happen during this emergency situation.

In the meantime our appeal to households is that they stockpile any recycling rather than being tempted to burn it - which is bad for the environment - or to dispose of it in any other way.

Guidance for households self isolating
To protect the bin crews and maintain waste collection services here in the Dales, please follow the guidance issued by Government if you are self-isolating or displaying symptoms of coronavirus.
DO: Double-bag any personal waste (eg used tissues and cleaning cloths) using bin liners or plastic bags, keeping this bag separate from other household waste. Tie securely and wait for at least 72 hours before putting it in your external general waste container (grey bin or black sack).

DO NOT: Put this waste into your recycling container.

Contact the parish clerk to have your notice appear here.

Useful Links

Brailsford medical centre
Brailsford pre-school
Brailsford primary school
Care services directory
County council
District council
Hulland & Brailsford Safer Neighbourhood Team
Independent Age
Job Centre Near Me
St. Michael’s Church and the Benefice
The Shirley Village Archive
Trusted Trader Scheme

© 2020 Shirley Parish Council. All rights reserved.